Heart part 1

Standard

I had not heard of Atrial Fibrillation on the first of May 2011. By the middle of May I had gotten sick and did not get better as fast as everyone else that got sick at the same time.  Just about everyone I knew was sick around the end of April/the first of May. By the time I went to the doctor he told me to go to the hospital and I heard of Atrial Fibrillation

“In Atrial Fibrillation (A-Fib) the upper part of your heart beats (quivers) faster than the rest of your heart. If you could look inside your chest, the top part of your heart would be shaking like Jell-O or beating more rapidly than the lower section of your heart. You feel an uncomfortable flutter in your chest or like your heart is going to jump out of your ribs or that your heart is “flip-flopping around.” Your pulse is irregular and/or more rapid than normal. Someone described their A-Fib as “…like a motor idling too fast in my chest.” Or “like I had a maniacal bass drummer hidden away in my chest.” You may feel lightheaded (fainting), very tired, have shortness of breath, sweating and chest pain, swelling in your legs.
Somewhere in your heart extra electrical signals are being generated which cause the top part of your heart (the atria) to contract and quiver rapidly and irregularly (fibrillate) like a bag of worms. The atria can contract as many as 300-600 times a minute.” http://www.a-fib.com/Overview.htm

This is AFib. This started a long winding trail of screw-ups. I did not see the cardiologist in the hospital that my family practice doctor called when he told me to drive myself to the hospital. I was assigned to a group of doctors that was there one day and then the whole group took the weekend off.  One of the test I had on Friday the 13th did not show any blockages. The other test, an echo, did not show anything that the hospital could see but a heart that had the beginning of damage caused by AFib. By the time I left the hospital I was so bad off I could hardly walk. Another group of cardiologists that was on call and looked in on me over the weekend would not tell me anything or do anything for me because I was not their patient. I was dumb enough to switch for a little while to this second group of doctors. I did get a little better at home, luckly I got away from that hospital. I will never go back there as a patient if I know where I am going.

I then waited for an appointment with the doctor. I went and was asking a lot of questions that he just did not want to answer. He kept saying the AFib was under control and that was good. It was not good, I could not sleep with my heart beating like a drummer on crack. It never stopped. The first group of doctors had put me on a new drug for blood clots called pradaxa because I asked if I could take relafen with it. He said that was okay. NO it was not. I stopped the relafen as soon as I was out of the hospital and could read information about pradaxa. The second group of doctors said it was okay to take celebrex with the pradaxa. I did continue that. I am not sure it is safe, but I must have something for pain. I was also taking carvedilol (Coreg) I was to come back in a month and have a limited echo and talk about electrical cardioversion and medicines. I go back and the doctor tells me I can not have a cardioversion because of a heart attack. (I did not have a heart attack.) I can never take any of the medicines to keep my heart in rhythm, I can stay like I am and get slowly worse and then get a pace maker. The doctor did tell me he had been out of school for 25 years and he did not know anything about the new treatments for AFib. I  did have the limited echo. It showed improvement in my heart function and it did not show anything else that this doctor or this technician could see

Leave a Reply

