ASD Closure?

Standard

I had a second ablation on May 16, 2012. It was for V Tach. That worked for the V Tach. I started to notice another type of beat right after the ablation. I thought it was V Tach though it did not feel quite the same. I had called one heart doctor’s office and asked  about a weird beat. Asked them if it was normal for that to happen after an ablation and would it stop. They really did not know that I was talking about. I had appointments with both heart doctors the next week .

I was at Dr. Mohoney’s office on Thursday when it happen again and they caught it on a EKG. It lasted about ½ hour this time, it had never lasted that long before, but it has not come back since.

The different beat is Paroxysmal supraventricular tachycardia. It comes on fast, can last several days or less than a minute, can be stopped by coughing or straining or cold water in the face. Drinking water has worked for me. Might come back now, next week or 5 years from now or never.  Can cause heart failure, can be stopped by an iv of a drug that can only be gotten at the ER. Big copay for that.  Big surprise, there is an ablation for that too, but no medicine to help it.

I went Friday the 13 of July 2012 to have the ASD closed. The doctor did a TEE and got a weird look on his face. He explained that the hole is now larger/longer because of the ablations and the hospital had to order a different type of closure. He could not use the one he was going to use because it would have to be placed where it could erode the aorta.

Today I look on MyChart where I get e-mails throught my GP’s office and see now I am going on the Friday the 27 of July to have the septal closure done. But who knows, your guess is as good as mine. The heart doctor’s office did not call me, did not ask me a thing, just set it up for this time and did not even let me know about it Friday afternoon. I have to let my boss know as soon as possible because she needs to get a sub. I am calling Monday morning to confirm this and ask them why they did not call me with the information on Friday afternoon.

This is what I am having put in my heart.

GORE HELEX® Septal Occluder used for ASD repair.   W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc.

The GORE HELEX® Septal Occluder is a transcatheter closure device used to treat ASDs. It is a disc-like device that consists of ePTFE patch material supported by a single Nitinol wire frame. The device is folded into a special catheter and inserted into a vein in the leg. Using a guide wire, the device is advanced through the atrial septum. When the catheter is in the correct position, the device slowly is pushed out of the catheter until it covers the defect. The device bridges the septal defect. Over time, heart tissue grows over the implant, and it becomes part of the heart, permanently correcting the defect.

Leave a Reply

